Bill Proposes Splitting NY Into 3 Regions

Bill Proposes Splitting NY Into 3 Regions

The Republican legislation is designed to lessen New York City’s control over the rest of the state. Do you think that is a good idea?

Republicans in the Albany want to break up New York into three separate regions. (Shutterstock)

NEW YORK — There have been proposals to break up New York into separate states, but how does one state with three separate regions and legislative bodies sound?

Assemblyman David DiPietro, a Republican who represents a portion of Wyoming County which is wedged between Buffalo and Rochester, has put a bill forward that would create three distinct regions that would have their own governors and legislators, WHAM reports.

The Assembly’s version of the bill, as well as the Senate’s, is sponsored and co-sponsored only by Republicans.

DiPietro would turn the five boroughs of New York City into the New York Region; Nassau, Suffolk, Rockland and Westchester would become the Montauk Region and the remaining 53 counties would be turned into the New Amsterdam Region, according to A5498, which is the Assembly bill.

Each region would have its own senate and assembly and those legislators would also serve in the state Senate and Assembly.

The bill would also provide for a state sales tax, divide various departments and agencies and provide for separate court and prison systems.

Capitals for the regions would be assigned to Albany County for the New Amsterdam Region, Richmond County — Staten Island — for the New York Region and Westchester County for the Montauk Region.

DiPietro said the bill is designed to wrestle control of the state away from New York City and is a reaction to, what he sees as, the policies passed by downstate Democrats at the expense of other parts of the state, Fox News reported.

Both the Assembly and the Senate versions are in committee and are unlikely to be passed by what are currently Democratic-held chambers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *